Report an error to firstname.lastname@example.org. We would be happy to update our information.
Renewal Deadline: Birthdate
Renewal Period: 2 years
Required Hours: 25
State Mandated CE Courses: (must have a minimum of 1 hour in five of the 10 mandatory topics)
(1) Prescribing controlled substance and pain management.
(2) Record keeping/risk management
(3) Infection control
(4) Access to care
(5) HIPPA Compliance
(6) Medical emergencies in the dental office
(7) Sexual assault and domestic abuse
(8) Culteral comptence
(9) Metal health conditions common to veterans
(10) Diagnostic technology
Limits on Courses: None Reported
Other: 1 CE for 8 hrs of volunteer hours
Renewal Deadline: October 1st
Renewal Period: 1 year
Required Hours: 16
State Mandated CE Courses: Infection control, cultural competency
Limits on Courses: 4 hours of self-study
Other: 1 CE for 8 hrs of volunteer hours, business courses do not count
Connecticut General Statutes Chapter 379 Sec. 20-126c
Dentist Continuing Education Information
Connecticut licensed dentists are required to participate in continuing education (CE) activities. Please note the following:
Number of Hours
Licensed dentists shall earn a minimum of twenty-five contact hours of qualifying continuing education every two years. One contact hour is a minimum of fifty minutes of continuing education activity.
The continuing education shall (1) be in an area of the licensee's practice; (2) reflect the professional needs of the licensee in order to meet the health care needs of the public; and (3) include not less than one contact hour of training or education in (A) any three of the ten mandatory topics for continuing education activities prescribed by the Commissioner, (B) for registration periods beginning on and after October 1, 2016, infection control in a dental setting, and (C) prescribing controlled substances and pain management.
The ten (10) mandatory topics for continuing education activities prescribed by the Commissioner are: Prescribing controlled substances and pain management; Record keeping/risk management,; Infection control; Access to care; HIPAA compliance; Medical emergencies in the dental office (including current training in CPR); Sexual assault and domestic abuse; Cultural competence; Mental health conditions common to veterans; and Diagnostic technology.
Eight hours of volunteer dental practice at a public health facility, as defined in section 20-126l may be substituted for one contact hour of continuing education, up to a maximum of ten contact hours in one twenty-four-month period.
Qualifying continuing education activities include, but are not limited to, courses offered or approved by: the American Dental Association (ADA) or state, district or local dental associations and societies affiliated with the American Dental Association; national, state, district or local dental specialty organizations or the Academy of General Dentistry (AGD); a hospital or other health care institution; dental schools or other schools of higher education accredited or recognized by the Council on Dental Accreditation (CODA) or a regional accrediting organization; agencies or businesses whose programs are accredited or recognized by the Council on Dental Accreditation (CODA); local, state or national medical associations; a state or local health department; or the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).
Approval of Courses
The Department does not approve continuing education courses or pre-approve specific coursework for individual licensees, nor does the Department maintain a list of continuing education courses. It is incumbent on the licensee and the provider to ensure that the CE activity meets the requirements as outlined on this page and in the Connecticut General Statutes (CGS).
Internet-based, on-line and other distance learning opportunities are acceptable.
Each licensee must obtain a certificate of completion from the provider of the continuing education or retain records of attendance for all continuing education hours that demonstrate compliance with the continuing education requirements and shall retain such documentation for a minimum of three years from the date of completion. Upon request by the Department, the licensee shall submit such certificates to the Department within forty-five days.
A licensee, who fails to comply with the continuing education requirements, including failure to maintain proof of course completion, is subject to disciplinary action.
Each licensee applying for license renewal will be asked to attest that the licensee satisfies the continuing education requirements. Certificates of completion should not be mailed to the Department at the time of license renewal unless a licensee is specifically asked to do so.
A licensee whose license is due to expire on or before September 30, 2007, is exempt from documenting completion of continuing education requirements until such licensee’s next registration period.
A licensee who is applying for license renewal for the first time is exempt from continuing education requirements until such licensee’s next registration period. The Department may, for a licensee who is not engaged in active practice or who has a medical disability or illness, grant a waiver of the continuing education requirements for a specified period of time or may grant the licensee an extension of time in which to fulfill the requirements. Waivers must be requested at the time of license renewal by submitting an affidavit.
Iindividuals who have received an exemption or waiver may not return to active practice until the licensee has met the continuing education requirements as outlined above.
Reinstatement of a Lapsed License
A licensee whose license has lapsed and who applies for reinstatement shall submit evidence of having completed twelve contact hours of continuing education within the one year period immediately preceding application for reinstatement.
Dental Hygienist Continuing Education
Each licensed dental hygienist applying for license renewal shall earn a minimum of sixteen contact hours of continuing education within the preceding twenty-four-month period.
For registration periods beginning on and after October 1, 2016, each dental hygieniest must complete at least one hour of training or education in infection control in a dental setting and, for registration periods beginning on and after October 1, 2017, one contact hour in cultural comepetency.
The subject matter for continuing education shall reflect the professional needs of the licensee in order to meet the health care needs of the public. Continuing education activities shall provide significant theoretical or practical content directly related to clinical or scientific aspects of dental hygiene.
Qualifying Continuing Education
Qualifying continuing education activities include, but are not limited to, courses, including on-line courses, that are offered or approved by dental schools and other institutions of higher education that are accredited or recognized by the Council on Dental Accreditation, a regional accrediting organization, the American Dental Association, a state, district or local dental association or society affiliated with the American Dental Association, the National Dental Association, the American Dental Hygienists Association or a state, district or local dental hygiene association or society affiliated with the American Dental Hygienists Association, the Academy of General Dentistry, the Academy of Dental Hygiene, the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association when sponsoring programs in cardiopulmonary resuscitation or cardiac life support, the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and armed forces of the United States when conducting programs at United States governmental facilities, a hospital or other health care institution, agencies or businesses whose programs are accredited or recognized by the Council on Dental Accreditation, local, state or national medical associations, or a state or local health department. Eight hours of volunteer dental practice at a public health facility may be substituted for one hour of continuing education, up to a maximum of five hours in one two-year period.
Activities that do not qualify toward meeting these requirements include professional organizational business meetings, speeches delivered at luncheons or banquets, and the reading of books, articles, or professional journals. Not more than four hours of continuing education may be earned through an on-line or other distance learning program.
Documentation Requirements/Record Retention
Each licensee applying for license renewal pursuant to section 19a-88, except a licensee applying for a license renewal for the first time, shall sign a statement attesting that he or she has satisfied the continuing education requirements described in subsection (g) of this section on a form prescribed by the department. Each licensee shall retain records of attendance or certificates of completion that demonstrate compliance with the continuing education requirements described in subsection (g) of this section for not less than three years following the date on which the continuing education was completed or the license was renewed. Each licensee shall submit such records to the department for inspection not later than forty-five days after a request by the department for such records. A licensee who fails to comply with the provisions of this section may be subject to disciplinary action pursuant to section 20-126o, as amended by this act.
In individual cases involving medical disability or illness, the Commissioner of Public Health may grant a waiver of the continuing education requirements or an extension of time within which to fulfill the requirements of this subsection to any licensee, provided the licensee submits to the Department of Public Health an application for waiver or extension of time on a form prescribed by the commissioner, along with a certification by a licensed physician of the disability or illness and such other documentation as may be required by the commissioner. The commissioner may grant a waiver or extension for a period not to exceed one registration period, except the commissioner may grant additional waivers or extensions if the medical disability or illness upon which a waiver or extension is granted continues beyond the period of the waiver or extension and the licensee applies for an additional waiver or extension.
A licensee who is not engaged in active professional practice, in any form, during a registration period shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements, provided the licensee submits a notarized application for exemption on a form prescribed by the commissioner prior to the end of the registration period. A licensee who is exempt under the provisions of this subsection may not engage in professional practice until the licensee has met the continuing education requirements of this section.
Reinstatement of a Lapsed License
A licensee whose license has become void and who applies to the department for reinstatement of such license, shall: (1) For a license that has been void for two years or less, submit evidence of completion of a minimum of twenty-four contact hours of qualifying continued education during the two-year period immediately preceding the application for reinstatement; or (2) for a license that has been void for more than two years, submit evidence of successful completion of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination or the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners Examination in Dental Hygiene during the year immediately preceding the application.