Report an error to firstname.lastname@example.org. We would be happy to update our information.
Renewal Deadline: June 30th
Renewal Period: 3 Years
Required Hours: 60
State Mandated CE Courses: CPR and Ethics
Limits on Courses: 30 hours of self-study, no more than 6 hrs for practice management
Other: No more than 50% of CE for published papers, 10 hrs max for volunteer service
Renewal Deadline: June 30th
Renewal Period: 3 Years
Required Hours: 30
State Mandated CE Courses: CPR and Ethics
Limits on Courses: 15 hours of self-study, no more than 3 hrs for practice management
Other: No more than 50% of CE for published papers, 5 hrs max for volunteer service
State Dental Act Title 195 - Board of Dentistry Section 195:25-1-1 thru 1-19
The rules of this chapter set forth the requirements for continuing education for dentists and dental hygienists.
195:25-1-2. Continuing education required
(a) Pursuant to Title 59 O.S. 328.15 (11), the Board shall require continuing education as a prerequisite for renewal of registration of dentists and dental hygienists. Any course is acceptable that contributes to updating and maintaining the knowledge and skills of the dentist and dental hygienist in the treatment of the individual dental patient.
(b) Courses directly related to provision of services and patient care shall be considered for credit. Courses dealing substantially with other subjects of professional concern are outside the scope of the continuing dental education program. Such courses or programs would include money management, investments, and professional organizational business meetings. However, the Board may allow exception as specified in Category D.
(c) Proof of CPR course provided by the American Heart Association/Health Care Provider Level or the American Red Cross/Professional Rescuer shall be required for every licensed dentist and dental hygienist once in each three (3) year reporting cycle. Courses for the Professional Rescuer sponsored by the American Safety and Health Institute and Programs sponsored by the Veterans Administration or Armed Forces shall also be recognized for approval.
(d) Proof of a course in Ethics shall be required for every licensed dentist and dental hygienist once in each three (3) year reporting cycle. Courses shall be given hour for hour credit. Dentists and dental hygienists may obtain continuing education in ethics from any designated category.
195:25-1-3. Hours required for dentists
The requirement for continuing education for Oklahoma licensed dentists will be sixty (60) credit hours for every three (3) year reporting period. The first reporting period will begin July 1, 1980 through June 30, 1983.
195:25-1-4. Hours required for dental hygienists
The requirement for continuing education for Oklahoma licensed dental hygienists will be thirty (30) credit hours for every reporting period. The first reporting period beginning on July 1, 1980 through June 30, 1983.
195:25-1-5. Credits for initial reporting period
Continuing education credits obtained from January 1, 1980 may be applied toward the initial reporting period requirement.
195:25-1-6. Requirement for new graduates
The continuing education requirements for new graduates (dentists and dental hygienists) will begin July 1, of the calendar year following their year of graduation.
195:25-1-7. Categories of continuing education
At least 50% of the continuing education requirement must be from category A and/or B. Not more than 50% of the requirement can be obtained from Category C. Continuing education must come from designated categories. A description of the categories of education programs is outlined below:
(1) Category A.
(A) Formalized structured learning situations at colleges or universities at regular undergraduate or college course levels will be allowed one (1) hour credit for each hour in attendance. Regular university or college courses are evaluated at semester hour, i.e.: A dentally related three (3) hour college credit course will be allowed three (3) hours of continuing education credit.
(B) Any university may co-sponsor a program within the State of Oklahoma. They must send a copy of the letter to the Board.
(C) Programs sponsored by the Veterans Administration or Armed Forces, given at a government facility will be granted hour for hour credit without university co-sponsorship.
(2) Category B.
(A) Formalized Meetings: Meetings of the following recognized groups will be granted hour for hour credit for the scientific portions of their programs:
(i) National professional organizations and their components
(ii) University sponsored professional Alumni clinical meetings
(iii) Organized Dental or Dental Hygiene Study Club Meetings
(iv) Seminars-sponsored by recognized Dental/Dental Hygiene constituent societies
(B) Advanced Study: Graduate study, internships, residencies, Dentists or hygienists engaged in acceptable full-time programs will fulfill their continuing education requirements for each calendar year in which they are actively participating in such programs by nature of these activities, and will have no additional formal requirements for that year. However, persons so engaged must notify the Board.
(3) Category C.
(A) Publishing Papers - Presenting clinics - Lecturing-Teaching: these activities will be granted six (6) hours credit for each hours of the original presentation, and hour for hour credit for additional presentation of the same material. Full or part-time teaching will receive credit for the semester credit hours. One (1) hour credit can be recorded for every 18 hours of clinical instruction.
(B) Self-Instructional Programs - Study Tapes-Correspondence Programs: These programs will be granted hour for hour credit. Only 50% of the total requirement may be obtained through this category. The dentists or dental hygienists must submit a certificate of registration from the sponsoring institution, organization or study club or have the participation in the course verified by the sponsoring agency in a manner specified by the Board Continuing Education Committee to be considered for approval.
(C) Volunteer Service - Licensees who donate their expertise for the dental care and treatment of indigent and needy persons shall be granted hour for hour credit for up to ten (10) hours for a dentist and five (5) hours for a dental hygienist within a reporting cycle. Dentists and dental hygienists must submit proof of actual volunteer work from a recognized entity approved by the Board. Volunteer service submitted for credit shall not receive or have the expectation to receive any payment or compensation, either direct or indirect, for any dental care or treatment rendered.
(4) Category D. Exceptions: Exceptions will be considered at the discretion of the Board.
(A) No more than six (6) hours of the sixty (60) hour requirement for dentists can be from practice management type courses.
(B) No more than three (3) hours of the thirty (30) hour requirement for dental hygienists can be from practice management type courses.
195:25-1-8. Procedure for reporting continuing education hours
(a) Form for reporting. Continuing education credits shall be reported by dentists and dental hygienists on a form specified and furnished by the Board.
(b) Time for forwarding form. Forms must be forwarded to the Board office. All continuing education reporting shall occur at the discretion of the licensee either annually or at the end of the three (3) year reporting period.
(c) Hours beyond requirement. Continuing education hours acquired beyond the requirement cannot be credited to the next reporting period. Hours acquired in excess of the requirement will not be reported or maintained.
(d) Requirement for individuals licensed in the midst of a reporting cycle. Those individuals who are licensed in the midst of a reporting cycle will have a pro-rated requirement, beginning July 1 following the date of licensure. Dentists must accumulate twenty (20) hours per year and dental hygienists ten (10) hours per year until the end of the reporting period. All pro-rated licensees shall submit continuing education forms annually.
(e) Random audits shall be conducted as directed by the Board at the end of the reporting period. An audit shall require documentation to match the information submitted to the Board on the continuing education form.
195:25-1-9. Monetary fine for failing to report continuing education hours
All licensed dentists or dental hygienists who fail to submit the prerequisite number of hours during the reporting period(s) ending on June 30th shall receive a monetary fine. The Board shall send a certified notice to all dentists and dental hygienists who fail to comply with the requirement sixty (60) days after the June 30 ending date of the reporting period. A monetary fine of one thousand dollars ($1000.00) for dentists and five hundred dollars ($500.00) for dental hygienists shall be assessed for failing to submit the required continuing education. All monetary fines shall be paid by certified check or money order to the Board of Dentistry on or before December 1st of the year the continuing education is due. Failure to submit the monetary fine shall result in the failure to secure a renewal certificate pursuant to 59 O.S. Section 328.41.